I’m havin a thought, here, Barbosa.

as I was browsing through a few articles on the internet and considering people in my head, as I often do, I had a thought process I would like to discuss.

firstly, the main idea is this:

When did snobbish “apathy” become the definition of “good taste?” Being above something popular just because it’s popular does not equal superiority.

I went through a phase in my life where I was all about the indie/scene image. This was mostly fed through my MySpace years. (Remember that time MySpace used to be cool and relevant? Yeah.. don’t look around like you don’t know what I’m talking about.) I feel like the popularity of the “emo” image, which has then fed into “indie” has turned young people everywhere into elitist monsters. Basically, the general attitude of,

“I like this obscure, little-known and/or retro music/clothing/shoes/person/food/animal/language/poetry/book/country/etc. because it IS obscure; and because the general population doesn’t appreciate/know about it, I am therefore superior,”

has overrun indie culture. This is all well and good if you’re genuinely interested in unique things and you really do like [insert obscure concept here]. I am all for pursuing your individuality through sincere interests and education and culture.

What bothers me, is the idea translating into the non-conformist holier-than-though attitude toward all things mainstream. Something being popular does not automatically make it beneath your notice. I have been guilty of this very attitude in the past, in particular toward music.

I think that what has happened because of the indie craze is that people have become SO caught up in individuality and originality that they lose themselves altogether in an image that doesn’t represent who they really are. They start thinking and speaking in ambiguous poetic terms to increase the appearance of depth… They spend hours on their outfit/hair to get the “I don’t care how I look and I want you to know that my retro Christmas sweater and greasy mustache make me awesome and above societal restrictions,” look down pat.

I like many an obscure band. I do. There is a lot of great undiscovered music out there to be enjoyed. But I also do not feel at all embarrassed to tell you that I could sing and dance to Nicki Minaj all day long. I don’t care what you think. I love her. Also, I sometimes wear clothing that matches and isn’t 35 years old. Sometimes I don’t.

But anyway, the reason I brought all this up… is not even directly related to indie-ism at all. I am annoyed because I was reading an article buzzing with commenters who are “too good” for Facebook. Let’s get real for a minute. If you are part of generation Y and you don’t live in the jungle of Africa, you have heard of Facebook. You may dislike it, but not having one does not make you superior to the rest of us ignorant conformists who have it. Your blatantly displayed “apathy” is getting on my nerves. You don’t like it? Don’t use it and shut up about it. The rest of us do.

Enough rambling. The takeaway message:

Be who you really are, like what you really like, and allow everyone else the same courtesy.

Rant end.

3 thoughts on “I’m havin a thought, here, Barbosa.

  1. I believe in this. When people act like they are superior to me, I can’t stand to be around them. I have a friend-ish, that HATES Jason Mraz. She always talks about how he is annoying. She posted on her blog about a girl in the apartment next door blaring it, and how she probably was some long blonde hair girl with a million peace bracelets and keds on, just following the crowd. I thought it was rude, she won’t listen to anything once it becomes mainstream, even if it is something she really loves.

    I think it’s sad because everyone is different, and no one wants to be judged like that.

  2. I feel like this post was directed towards me and my greasy mustache but I’ve never heard of this “Nicki Minaj”, so who is indie now Aubrey, huh? Who?

  3. Aubrey, I could not agree with you more! I hate it when people poo poo you for liking something popular. I decided a few years ago that I like what I like, popular or not. I’m not ashamed that I love Mika, Harry Potter, and the Twilight series! There are other mainstream things that I just don’t care about at all.

    Besides, it just takes way too much energy to be so condescending toward all that is mainstream and search out this stuff.

Leave a Reply

