my first kiss went a little like this..

ok, ok. JK!
I’m not gonna talk about my first kiss. it was L to the AME and you would be bored. maybe.

but I AM gonna talk about how this weekend was a weekend of firsts. that Ke$ha/3OH!3 song was the first thing that came to my mind. (ha. there were a lot of amusing things about that sentence.)

anyway. Friday was not my favorite of days. I had gotten word on Thursday night that I had been chosen for an open position I’d applied for in the college where I would to be able to transfer to work with externs in the career services department. I was stoked because the career services peeps are my favorite, and also because my night work schedule is KILLING me. I feel totally isolated.. I never see my roommates, my family, any friends, miss all the ward activities, etc. it’s thrown me into a depression. so I was excited to have the position landed… only to have it ripped out of my hands on Friday morning. the president of the college said we may be going on a hiring freeze within the next month, and it will take a month to replace me. they can’t afford to lose the open externship position if they don’t get things worked out in time, so I am pretty much stuck. after mourning with the career services peeps, I went to talk to the president and… had an embarrassing breakdown in her office. she said she’d take the weekend to think about it and we’d talk Monday.
the point of this.. is Friday was not a good day for me. I was down. I felt punched in the gut/black-balled. life was unfair. I needed a distraction. I had no plans. since my roommates were both busy with their men, as usual, and I didn’t want to call the whole world only to be rejected by everybody and their plans, I decided to fulfill a lifelong bucket list goal and go to a movie all by myself for the first time ever.
(we’ll pretend the part where I cried on the phone to the point where I couldn’t talk in the gateway parking lot in my car when my dear friend, Abe, just “had a feeling” he should call me didn’t happen. but he was lovely about it.)
the consensus: I like alone movies. I saw “Morning Glory” and it was all about the heroin’s struggles through her career to fulfill her dreams, with some life mixed in. it was kind of exactly what I needed.
the cherry on the top was the group of Middle-Eastern guys that came in to the theater chanting a song-ish thing at FULL VOICE as I sat in my seat by myself with no other soul in sight before the movie started. I didn’t know what to do so I buried my face in my popcorn and Diet Coke and was glad that I spent that $9 (outrageous) for a minute till they sat in the back. it was awesome. and then.. don’t worry that they chanted their way OUT of the theater too. luckily.. other people came to the movie too, so I wasn’t all by my lonesome in the awkwardness.

Saturday rolled around with the promise of another first. I had been talked into accompanying my good friend, Fudge, from the mission, and his girlfriend to the SLC temple and then going to lunch afterward. my life as a third wheel is nothing new, but I didn’t want to feel too intruder-ish, so I opted to do an endowment session while they did baptisms. sadly, despite growing up in Utah, every time I have tried to go to the SLC temple.. my plan has been foiled. I had never been before Saturday. it was pretty amazing. there is no place in the world like the temple.. and I happened to be in a session full of multiple people receiving their endowment for the first time. I liked the people-watching as they and their families shared the happiness of the day.
then I waited an hour in the lobby while my friends finished, because apparently they were pretty late and then got stuck in the font for quite some time. so that was.. cool. and we went to Jason’s Deli. mm.

so.. I know those were only two firsts… but they have both been on my list for quite some time, and they just presented themselves as opportunities all in one weekend. there were, of course, other activities.. but they were not firsts. unless you count that it was the first time I had been to a house where I went to a party..

a stretch.

so anyway.. this is awkward.

good weekend.

cool story, Hansel. tell another.

Leave a Reply

