“I’m finally numb, so please don’t get me rescued.” – Jack’s Mannequin

I’m sorry
that you don’t believe me.
there’s no such frustration
as that of suspicious disbelief
when it’s truth.
so I compensated
with stupid weak submission.
I was tired. vulnerable. emotional.
and I felt sick.
but you knew.
when I say it feels wrong
it’s not because there’s another.
it’s simple confirmation.
it’s honesty.

I’m sorry
that I hurt you.
that you chose the fast fall
when your landing
was a question mark.
and I care,
and I’m guilty,
but I’m right.

I’m sorry
that you looked at me
like your heart fabric was tearing
whenever I caught your eye,
that you spent this time in misery
from premature confrontation,
for the constant exposure
after the burn,
that I couldn’t force it,
and that the flowers will come soon.

and I’m sorry
to know of animosity
and hard sad feelings…
but I have nothing further to add.
awash with relief
at the drop-off.
but I wish there was a painless way
to do this kind of thing.
because the thought of you
makes me cringe with frustrated sympathy.
not to quote you, sir,
but “thanks for everything.”

One thought on ““I’m finally numb, so please don’t get me rescued.” – Jack’s Mannequin

Leave a Reply

