The Holy War/Deseret First Duel/Source of Mormon Contention: My Take

aight. here’s the thing. I’m getting super sick of reading all of the irate people’s statuses on Facebook about Max Hall and his hater-ade comment, but I have to vent a little. I have to put this out into the universe and be done with it. I am a hardcore Ute fan. it matters to me. I love the University of Utah and I always have. my family currently has 4 students attending there. I graduated from there. I love it. it’s a great institution. I take a lot of flack for it. the game yesterday was torturous for me. I felt like both teams were sloppy, both played dirty, both made stupid mistakes, there were a lot of nit-picky and/or ridiculous calls made by referees, but ultimately BYU pulled it out down the stretch, and I accept that. I’ll admit I was not in the mood for smiling last night, and spent the night working off aggression at the gym and watching Audrey Hepburn movies to cheer myself up. but it happens. I chose not to respond to snarky text-messages I received about it when I did nothing to provoke them. and I still love many of the people in my life who attend or have attended the school down south.. better known as BYU. but what started out as a mild competition in my mind growing up has grown annually to become a hatred for BYU. and I know it’s bad, but I seriously dislike BYU more and more with every encounter. and things like this are why…

BYU Quarterback, Max Hall’s post-game comment: “I don’t like Utah. In fact, I hate them. I hate everything about them. I hate their program, I hate their fans, I hate everything. I think the whole university, their fans, and their organization is classless. They threw beer on my family and stuff last year, and they did a whole bunch of nasty things, and I don’t respect them, and they deserve to lose.”

my take:
Max Hall’s comment: generally stereotypical and classless in and of itself. to categorize an entire university full of thousands of students, thousands upon thousands of whom are also members of the Church, in a “classless” lump who “deserves to lose” because of the behavior of a few fans is absolutely ridiculous. really, Max? you hate everybody and everything about the entire institution? I’m glad we’ve hit this level.

Ute fans behavior: the few who threw beer on his family and depicted his mother with a blow-up doll acting inappropriately WAS classless. I agree on that point. this does not, however, translate to the entire university and organization and fan body. and furthermore, you cannot tell me that BYU fans elbowing Kyle (who ironically went to BYU and played for their football team back in the day) Whittingham’s wife in the face was classy, thank you. but again, that does not mean I should hate every person who attends BYU because of the stupid actions of a few.

my beef with BYU comes from the attitude of self-righteous, hypocritical judgment that so often gets thrown at me from the direction of Provo. it comes from people so many times calling it the “Lord’s University,” when they don’t stop to consider the fact that even the prophet and many of the apostles and leaders of the church are graduates of the U. (President Monson spoke at my graduation ceremony while BYU had Dick Cheney? ok.) it comes from the implication of only sub-par Mormons attending the University of Utah, while only the truly righteous attend BYU. I am a proud member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I served a mission. I go to church every week. I hold callings. I am active. I do my best to live it. I am apparently not as righteous, however, because I don’t “rise and shout” for the Cougars. (p.s. does anyone else feel like the Cougar Fight Song sounds like the Mickey Mouse Club theme song?)
But I do recognize that many of the Ute fans do not act classy when it comes to anything BYU-related. I know this. but it also should be said that Ute fans and/or the student body never claimed to be perfect. they never claimed to be saints. (heaven knows I’ve heard enough jokes about the U and all of its sinfulness.) I love the diversity of the student body: the different opinions and lifestyles and religions and cultures and veiwpoints. yes, there are many who drink beer and swear and whatever else, but they don’t hide and pretend to be something they’re not.. nor does them doing it mean there aren’t also commandment-abiding LDS students in the mix. BYU students, however, often put up a perfect Mormon front.. they abide by the “honor code,” they are oh so righteous, and then they do all of the same smack-talking, classless things throughout the rivalry– for example: newspapers actually have to edit comments by BYU fans as the game gets closer and closer because the language gets so bad. (and don’t even get me started on so many of the out-of-state BYU students’ hypocritical viewpoints and commentaries on Utah Mormons. gah. geography snobs are a huge pet peeve.. along with patronization and closed-minded judgment.)

Anyway, I realize this probably sounds generalized; and since I just accused Max Hall of that mistake, I have to provide the disclaimer that I don’t feel like this applies to every BYU fan or student, (please don’t be offended BYU fan friends. I still love you.) it just has been my overall personal experience in my own encounters.. and it is the primary fuel for my hatred of the Happy Valley area in general.

I’d like to end by quoting my friend’s Facebook status from yesterday that I so appreciated:
“Heather Y. apparently is classless. Congrats on your win, Cougs. Enjoy obscurity, Max.”

this is my soapbox.
rant end.

2 thoughts on “The Holy War/Deseret First Duel/Source of Mormon Contention: My Take

  1. Um… I meant to tell you I’m sorry I texted you and told you to “suck it” when BYU won. I sent the same text to Beau and he told me I was immature and, after extended internal evaluation I think he was right. I just couldn’t resist egging you two on. I hope you will accept my completely impersonal blog comment apology and we can still be VIPeeps?

  2. Pingback: Max Hall Post Game Comments « Hollywood Celebs

Leave a Reply

