“there’s blood in my mouth ’cause I’ve been biting my tongue all week” – Rilo Kiley

So you were bold,
and your bold moves were rewarded
with the opportunity to get over it.
And you’re cool. completely.
So what’s the fuss, dear?
He doesn’t know the reason
someone wouldn’t be into you.
And your heart beat so hard, your hair shook;
and the muscles in your left leg tensed and cramped.
Nothing could have made your stomach sicker anyway.
And you carefully clothespinned your fingers,
and deliberately tied up your ankles…
and jumped–

strung out in the alleyway
like a drug dealer’s pair of shoes on a powerline,
the dangling, open, vulnerable target.

One thought on ““there’s blood in my mouth ’cause I’ve been biting my tongue all week” – Rilo Kiley

Leave a Reply

